Baked Sunday Mornings: Poppy Seed Pound Cake with Brown Butter Glaze

5

June 8, 2014 by maddieswab

Poppy Seed Pound Cake with Brown Butter GlazeI’m so guilty of not being as active in Baked Sunday Mornings as I used to be, and not even baking as much as I used to! All of this is college’s fault, though. Those evil tests and papers and finals. But now it’s summer and I have time to bake again!

I got back in the saddle with Baked’s Poppy Seed Pound Cake with Brown Butter Glaze. This pound cake was super simple to bake, but had little twists along the way to spice up the average pound cake. It’s baked in a Bundt pan, which gives it a nice shape and makes it perfect for the glaze to drip down after the cake cools. With a poppy seed and graham cracker swirl in the middle of the cake, orange zest throughout, and a glaze with poppy seeds, orange, and brown butter, this cake is simple, easy, and tasty for any time of the day!

Poppy Seed Pound Cake with Brown Butter Glaze

I had to make a couple of changes to the recipe based on what I had and some small hiccups along the way:

  • Instead of using traditional nonstick cooking spray, I used nonstick coconut oil spray. It worked super well and didn’t affect the taste of the finished cake, but I think it might have made the cake cook quicker, since most of my baked goods take exactly the amount of time the Baked books recommend, while this pound cake was slightly over-baked, even though I took it out 10 minutes early.
  • I used less poppy seeds in both the filling and the glaze, simply because I thought I had enough and didn’t buy anymore at the store. It didn’t really affect anything, though.
  • I also didn’t use a spice grinder for the poppy seeds in the filling, since I don’t have one. The filling would probably have a smoother consistency if I had used one, but it’s not too big of a deal.
  • I also had to use slightly less orange zest in both the cake and glaze, because my sister unknowingly ate one of my cake’s oranges the morning before I baked this. Oops! But I used pretty large navel oranges, so it was probably only a teensy bit less zest than the recipe originally contains.

Check out the other Baked Sunday Mornings posts here!

Keep baking!

Recipe from Baked Elements: Our 10 Favorite Ingredients by Matt Lewis and Renato Poliafito.

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Baked Sunday Mornings: Poppy Seed Pound Cake with Brown Butter Glaze

  1. Chelly says:

    Looks really great!

  2. Pretty cake, Maddie! I’m actually interested in what the filling tastes like with seeds that aren’t ground — because I do love the crunch of poppy seeds and I missed it a bit in my filling. You gotta love cakes like this that are easy and delicious!

  3. Susan says:

    Enjoy your summer, Maddie! I’m glad you’re back and that you’ll have more time as we accelerate the schedule in anticipation of the new book! Your cake looks great – I’ll have to make it up as I went rogue this week.

  4. SandraM says:

    Great job! Love the flecks of orange zest in both the cake and glaze. Happy baking during the summer. 🙂

  5. Robyn says:

    Summer baking is the best! Lots of fresh fruit to bake with, especially if you like making pies (I do!). Welcome back!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow Caramel and Salt and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 830 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
Baked Sunday Mornings
