Baked Sunday Mornings: Chewy Chocolate Mint Cookies

2

August 17, 2014 by maddieswab

Chewy Chocolate Mint Cookies

So, this post is a bit late, but I’ve had a lot going on this weekend; I moved into my apartment last Saturday and have still been getting everything all settled, I’m back in Athens for the first time in months, and I finally got to see all of my friends whom I’ve missed so much! But I decided to break in the new apartment by baking some cookies for my roommates and our neighbors (who were actually our neighbors in my dorm last year!).

These cookies were super easy to whip up. I don’t have a stand mixer here, only a hand mixer, so I couldn’t use a paddle attachment to beat the butter and dark brown sugar together, but everything still turned out okay! I also forgot to buy vanilla extract at the store (not having an already stocked pantry is killing me!), but I just substituted the same amount of maple syrup in place of the vanilla extract; I couldn’t taste the difference!

These cookies had a super short bake time (which equals less hot oven time in this dreadful summer month!) and came out looking as beautiful as they could be. Plus, everyone loved them, especially right out of the oven! I definitely can’t wait to try them frozen, as the book suggests. Thanks for another hit, Renato and Matt!

Check out the other Baked Sunday Mornings posts here!

Keep baking!

Recipe from Baked Elements: Our 10 Favorite Ingredients by Matt Lewis and Renato Poliafito.

2 thoughts on “Baked Sunday Mornings: Chewy Chocolate Mint Cookies

  1. SandraM says:

    Beautiful cookies! Lucky friends and neighbours!!! 🙂 Glad you liked them. I thought they were really good too.

  2. Looks lovely, Maddie! Your cookies are so nice and dark with those beautiful cracks. Enjoy your new apartment– I’m sure you’ll have your pantry up and running in no time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow Caramel and Salt and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 830 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
Baked Sunday Mornings
