Baked Sunday Mornings-Lemon Pistachio Cornmeal Muffins

22

January 20, 2013 by cookingtofeel

There are three things I love: (1) citrus, (2) nuts, and (3) muffins. And this recipe from Baked Elements: Our 10 Favorite Ingredients by Matt Lewis and Renato Poliafito captures these three things in a flavor-packed muffin.

Lemon Pistachio Cornmeal Muffins #3

This is one of the few recipes where I don’t have to dash to the grocery store to get one or two ingredients to bake it; I had everything at my disposal, a very rare phenomena. And even if I didn’t have everything, the ingredients are super simple and not expensive at all, something that makes baking even more rewarding.

Lemon Pistachio Cornmeal Muffins #2

Mixing the wet and dry ingredients together--look at that lovely lemon color!

Mixing the wet and dry ingredients together–look at that lovely lemon color!

These muffins aren’t fancy-schmancy. They don’t have exotic fruits or European chocolate. But they aren’t to be undermined, either. With just a few simple ingredients, your tastebuds will jump at the chance to eat these muffins. (I’ve already had three and only baked them yesterday afternoon!)

Lemon Pistachio Cornmeal Muffins #4

Lemon Pistachio Cornmeal Muffins #5

And what’s even better is the actual process of baking the muffins. No mixer required, only a food processor and some bowls. I never had any troubles, and the highest technique it required was folding, which isn’t even a hard one. Plus, the whole time I was mixing the wet ingredients together or with the dry ingredients, a delicate lemon scent wafted everywhere. There’s nothing better than that!

Lemon Pistachio Cornmeal Muffins #6

Overall, this recipe was so simple, but yielded tasty muffins that at first seem like they include a little too much, but end up being the perfect balance of texture, tang, and nuttiness.

Lemon Pistachio Cornmeal Muffins #7

 

You can find the recipe at Baked Sunday Mornings. Keep baking!

22 thoughts on “Baked Sunday Mornings-Lemon Pistachio Cornmeal Muffins

  1. Candy says:

    Welcome to Baked Sunday Mornings! I loved these muffins too and agree that they are one of the most satisfying things to bake. I love your last shot!

  2. Yael says:

    They look yummy!

  3. busylizzybakes says:

    Great post, I loved these muffins too!

  4. Welcome to the group Maddie! I skipped this one because as you put it, there seemed to be too much going on… but I’m glad you liked them! I really enjoyed your post!

  5. Susan says:

    Welcome! Weren’t these so unexpectedly good?

    • maddieswab says:

      Thanks! And they were! I thought I wouldn’t love them, but eight muffins later, I discovered my love for the cornmeal, pistachio, and lemon combination 🙂

  6. SandraM says:

    Welcome to the group! Your post was great. Fantastic pics! I loved this recipe too. And have made them twice now! (and plan to make them a lot)

    • maddieswab says:

      Thanks! I can’t wait to bake more with the group! And I definitely want to make these again–I wish I had made a double batch because they quickly disappeared!

  7. Chelly says:

    Nice photos! They sure look tasty! Good job!

  8. Krissy says:

    These muffins are so pretty…the colors are great. Loved all your process photos. This recipe is a keeper for us and we can’t wait to bake them again too.

  9. Sarah says:

    Glad you liked these! I added raspberries and thought they were pretty awesome. 🙂

  10. Erin* says:

    I loved how simple these were and that I didn’t have to run out and get ingredients either. Great job!

  11. Margot says:

    Welcome to the group! The muffins look great! I was a big fan of these too.

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to follow Caramel and Salt and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 828 other subscribers
Follow on Bloglovin
Baked Sunday Mornings