Beauty for Babes: The Gnarly Whale

Leave a comment

June 23, 2014 by maddieswab

I’m starting a new series on Caramel and Salt that I’m super excited about! I’ve never ventured into the beauty side of blogging, but I’m doing it now! Beauty for Babes is a bimonthly series featuring reviews of cool beauty products, beauty DIYs, and more beauty ideas! I’m excited to see how you all like this, so don’t be afraid to leave me comments to let me know what you think! 🙂

The Gnarly Whale

My first Beauty for Babes post is about this amazing beauty company I recently discovered, The Gnarly Whale. The Gnarly Whale has a pretty limited selection of products, but the ones they do have are amazing. I recently ordered two of their products, a face + body scrub and their Beach Waves. And I ordered them in the same scent, coconut lime verbena, because I tried the scent first in the Beach Waves and loved it so much (a bonus: their products are vegan and they don’t test on animals!). Here are my reviews and tips for each product:

Beach Waves

Coconut Lime Verbena Beach Waves

I’ve always been pretty skeptical of salt sprays that make your hair wavy and look like you just came back from the beach, mostly because my hair is so limp and does absolutely nothing. But I figured I’d take the plunge this summer and opted to buy The Gnarly Whale‘s Beach Waves spray.

To use it, I let my hair air dry a bit after showering so that it’s not dripping wet. Then once it’s a little drier, I shake the spray (the key is to shake it a lot) and then generously spray my hair with it. I spray from my roots down to my ends, and then flip my hair over and spray the back. Then, I let it dry some more and once it’s nearly dry I scrunch my hair, spray a bit of hairspray all over my hair, and then scrunch some more. It took me a while to find a specific method that works and while it sounds like a lot of waiting, the results are pretty good! My hair is volumized, wavy, textured, and the style holds for a pretty good amount of time. I think this spray works best on shorter hair, since I can’t imagine it working very well on my old longer hair. And I also think that the spray would work better if you blow dry your hair using a diffuser after spraying, but I don’t blow dry my hair. Overall, I’d rate it a 3.5/5!

Face + Body Scrub

For some reason, college made my skin horrible. I think it was the combination of living in an old, kinda gross building, the added stress, and being in a new environment. So, I’ve been slowly nursing my facial skin back to where it was before I left for school. And since I’ve upped my skin care regimen, I’ve gotten some dry patches of skin on my face. The problems never end, do they?! So, I decided to start using The Gnarly Whale‘s face + body scrub for my face. This scrub feels good and works even better! I use it every Sunday night and every Wednesday night and find that twice a week takes care of my dry skin, without irritating my face. I just wet my face and pat it dry a bit, rub a bit of the scrub all over my face in a circular motion, and then wash it off and pat dry. Super easy! Overall, I’d rate it a 5/5!

Bonus: They have a code on their website for 15% off your order! Just use the code JUNE15!

Photos courtesy of The Gnarly Whale’s website and Etsy shop page, respectively.

Heading off to college or your own place, check out the furniture options today at UrbanOutfitters.com! Shipping is free on all orders over $50!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow Caramel and Salt and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 830 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
Baked Sunday Mornings
