Summer Fun + Some Spotlights

1

June 16, 2014 by maddieswab

Root City Market

With my sister gone in France, Spain, and Morocco for the past two weeks, I’ve had a lot of time to spend with my mom, which has been awesome since I just came home in May after 8 months away from home! We’ve mostly just been chilling out and working (I’ve got to get some spending money for Europe!) but on Saturday we decided to check out Root City Market and make a day of it!

I love, love, love Root City Market–the vibe, the atmosphere, the makers, the people–and I was so excited to go to their summer pop-up for the first time (the last pop-up I went to was their winter one in December)! I don’t even think I could fully explain everything there is and how cool the experience is, so I just guess you’ll have to visit for yourself! No, seriously–do it! The venue changes for every pop-up and this time it was at the cutest little church in Atlanta, Grace-Midtown, which just put me in such a good mood. Also at this pop-up they had a booth where you could get free advice! Super cool, but I couldn’t think of anything I wanted advice for so I didn’t get to experience it. I can never think of things on the spot! There were so many great makers there but sadly I had to limit myself on what I bought since my trip to Europe is in less than three weeks. Here’s some snapshots of the event and what I bought:

Root City Market Root City Market Root City Market So Worth Loving XK Macarons

Shirt: So Worth Loving // Macarons: XK Macarons (flavors clockwise from top left: key lime, blackberry, peach)

I also got the chance to rock my Cats Against Catcalls shirt from Feminist Apparel and how could you not love it?! It’s super comfy and goes with everything, plus it lets me rock my feminism for the world to see (and I seriously do have a thing against catcalls but I’ll save that for another one of my blog rants!). Feminist Apparel sells all sorts of shirts for the feminist out there! Another one of my favorites is their Donut Judge Me design, of course! Oh, and the profits from the Cats Against Catcalls shirt goes to Hollaback. I seriously love how Feminist Apparel is spreading feminism and helping organizations that help women. You guys rock! (Also, I got tons of compliments on this shirt during the day and that’s a sure sign that it’s fabulous!)

Feminist Apparel Feminist Apparel

Shirt: c/o Feminist Apparel

After Root City Market, my mom and I headed out to get some lunch. We didn’t really plan on grabbing lunch before our planned meal of ice cream, but we were too hungry not to eat a full meal. Luckily, we saw the gigantic line wrapped around Taqueria del Sol and though “This place must seriously be good!” And just to give you guys an idea of the wait, it was longer than Mama’s Boy! All of my fellow Athenians know just how long that it 🙂 The food here was so worth the wait, though! I had a mango and tamarind chicken taco (tamarind-glazed chicken with a mango and serano salsa) and let me just say that it is the best taco I’ve ever had in my whole life–and that’s saying something because I’ve had a lot of tacos in my 19 years here on Earth! The food here is so simple and so fresh, but that’s what makes it so, so good.

Taqueria del Sol

After our taco lunch, we grabbed a few scoops at Jeni’s Splendid Ice Creams, which I had been waiting to try since the shop first opened in Atlanta in August! And oh my gosh was it worth the wait! There were so many flavors to try! But I knew I wanted a scoop of Salty Caramel and after trying the Wildberry Lavender flavor, I knew they would go so well together. The result was so deep and salty, but fruity and floral too. All I could say was yum!

Jeni's Splendid Ice Creams Jeni's Splendid Ice Creams Wildberry Lavender and Salty Caramel Ice Creams

All in all, it was a great day out with my mom!

 

One thought on “Summer Fun + Some Spotlights

  1. Looks like such a cool place. I really need to go to more pop up shops and little events like that by me.

    xx Sarah | Loser Girl Wins

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow Caramel and Salt and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 830 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
Baked Sunday Mornings
