Baked Sunday Mornings-Antique Caramel Cake

6

November 24, 2013 by maddieswab

IMG_2256

I love making layer cakes for special occasion, and what better occasion than a birthday? My dad’s birthday, to be exact! His birthday was August 1, so I did make the Antique Caramel Cake way earlier than the other posters, but who said I have to follow the rules? 🙂

This cake seemed pretty easy: make the yellow cake, make the caramel cream cheese frosting, make the Sweet and Salty Caramel. Well, it was pretty easy! Caramel can be intimidating, but as long as you watch it carefully, it’s not hard at all!

IMG_2257

The cake was super simple to whip up (again, I had to bake it in two batches because I only have one 8-inch cake pan for some reason) even though I had a small setback: I forgot to buy buttermilk at the store! My sister solved this problem by giving me a tip to mix 2 teaspoons of white vinegar with 1 cup of milk for every cup of buttermilk needed. And it worked!

My layers did bake a bit more than I wanted them too, but they didn’t burn so it all worked out! The 32 minute minimum baking time suggested in the book was way too much time for me. I would reduce the baking time to 10 or 12 minutes. But the cake didn’t stick to my pans at all and had such a delicate taste and crumb. It’s the perfect backdrop for all of that caramel!

Now, the last time I made a Baked frosting I had some difficulties. With some advice from my fellow Baked Sunday Mornings bakers, my frosting came out perfect! It was pretty easy to whip up and tastes so good! The caramel that was added to the frosting base was so simple to make and really added another dimension to the cream cheese frosting.

IMG_2261

Frosting the cake went way better than my first attempt at a Baked layer cake! It doesn’t look perfect, but hey–layer cakes aren’t my strongest area of baking! And the Sweet and Salty Caramel drizzled over the cake? Beautiful and delicious and salty and dark–just how I like my caramel!

My family loved this cake. It’s sweet, but the cream cheese and Sweet and Salty Caramel cut some of the sweetness and makes it perfect. It was delicious for my dad’s birthday!

Check out the other Baked Sunday Mornings posts here!

Keep baking!

Recipe from Baked Elements: Our 10 Favorite Ingredients by Matt Lewis and Renato Poliafito.

6 thoughts on “Baked Sunday Mornings-Antique Caramel Cake

  1. Robyn says:

    Looks great! This is definitely one of the Baked boys’ easier layer cakes!

  2. Yael Even says:

    Really nice! I actually had trouble with this frosting being thick enough to spread without running. Maybe you could give me some of that advice you got!

  3. Candy says:

    What a great birthday treat!

  4. SandraM says:

    That is a beautiful birthday cake! Lucky dad! This really is a good cake recipe. (way easier than I anticipated) I totally forgot to make the caramel sauce!! D’oh!

  5. Nice job, Maddie! So glad your family enjoyed the cake. You really can’t go wrong with all that caramel! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow Caramel and Salt and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 830 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
Baked Sunday Mornings
