Baked Sunday Mornings-Good Morning Sunshine Bars

13

November 10, 2013 by maddieswab

IMG_0611

I made Good Morning Sunshine Bars a while back, but it is one of two recipes that I have repeated more than twice in my whole baking career. These bars are a hit among everyone–as long as they love peanut butter and chocolate!

I originally made these for my high school newspaper teacher, Ms. Kovel, after she had to miss some days of school for medical reasons in the fall. I also added rainbow sprinkles to them because rainbow sprinkles can make anything better! I’m pretty sure the bars helped her to achieve a full recovery 🙂

After that, my family would not let me drop this recipe and move on; they asked again and again and again for me to make them, until I eventually made them two more times throughout the year.

These bars are so simple to whip up (just be sure not to burn your fingers while mixing the hot peanut butter mixture with the cereal mixture like I did!) and many substitutions can be made! For example, I left out the peanuts one time because I was out of them and made these bars on a whim. I also used different chocolates to drizzle on top, depending on what was available in my pantry at the time.

The recipe can easily be doubled and served up to large crowds or at parties. If I ever need to please anyone at school, I’ll be sure to bring them a big platter of Good Morning Sunshine Bars!

Check out the other Baked Sunday Mornings posts here and see what the other bakers have to say about Good Morning Sunshine Bars!

Keep baking!

Recipe from Baked Elements: Our 10 Favorite Ingredients by Matt Lewis and Renato Poliafito.

13 thoughts on “Baked Sunday Mornings-Good Morning Sunshine Bars

  1. They look delicious! Great job!

  2. yeven says:

    Agree, agree,agree- on everything you said! Yummy!

  3. SandraM says:

    Great looking bars. And I have no doubt these would make anybody feel better! I think I’m going to take mine in to the co-workers!

  4. These bars are Yum, Yum, Yum! Good idea to add color with some sprinkles!

  5. Candy says:

    I was thinking these would be great using different combinations of cereal and nuts. Maybe even Nutella for the PB?

  6. Robyn says:

    I agree! I hardly ever repeat recipes but I can see these making another appearance in my kitchen. Especially since I still have half a box of Chex lying around now!

  7. Susan says:

    Well, I can see why – these are a perfect match for the name of your blog. I skipped them in favor of a birthday cake, but I think my brother would love them.

    Enjoy your week!

  8. Sarah says:

    Corn syrup is the best medicine. 😉

  9. Yes, ditto everyone above! I love these too, and they’ve been a repeat hit for me as well– can’t go wrong! What a lucky teacher– if someone brought me a plate of these at school, I would go nuts. (No pun intended.) Awesome job! 🙂

  10. I hardly ever make the same recipes again. They have to be REALLY good. I have made Magic Cookie Bars a few times (my favorite!) And a chocolate chip derby pie that my family asks for. I will have to try these! Yum!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow Caramel and Salt and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 830 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
Baked Sunday Mornings
