College 101: Organize

1

October 23, 2013 by maddieswab

Make Mistakes

One major thing I’ve learned from my three-ish months of college is organization is insanely important. And I’m not talking organized like I was in high school (remembering homework instead of writing it down, writing notes on my iPhone to remember things, knowing which stack of papers I put my assignment in), but seriously organized.

Get a planner

A planner has definitely come in handy for me. I love this Jonathan Adler one that has a monthly calendar where I can jot down events and an expanded weekly section where I can write down assignments I need to complete that day and when assignments for each class are due. Especially since I’m involved in so much (Gamma Sigma Sigma, DiGamma Kappa, Newsource, work), a planner is so great to help me keep up with all of my activities and make sure my schedule is never double-booked. And I guess I could just use my iPhone calendar, but I’m a bit more old-fashioned.

Have a way of organizing papers and stuff

There are some weeks where I’ll just be so busy that everything ends up in a pile on my desk. Not good. Especially when there’s very limited space in my dorm room. So, I have binders and bins and an organizational system from Poppin in my desk drawer that help me stay organized and clutter-free. I have one place devoted to stationary, letters from family and friends, and stamps; another place devoted to wall hanging devices (when you live in a dorm with icky walls, it takes a lot of trial and error); a place devoted to school supplies; and a place devoted to random junk.

Don’t just organize your school stuff, organize your life

I’ve learned so much these past months about keeping my life organized. This just means making time for the more important things instead of goofing off or sleeping the day away, and prioritizing certain events over others. College is fun, but it’s not so fun when you’re constantly stressed out over everything that’s going on.

What keeps you organized?

One thought on “College 101: Organize

  1. Oh wow, I love that planner so much! Staying organized is major! I write down everything in my planner. If I lost my planner today, I don’t know where I would be. Haha!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow Caramel and Salt and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 830 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
Baked Sunday Mornings
