Baked Sunday Mornings-Whiskey Peach Upside-Down Cake

9

August 18, 2013 by maddieswab

whiskeypeaches3

My parents went out of town. Naturally, my sister and I threw a raging house party–kidding. I actually decided to whip up a Baked Elements recipe that’s a little out of my, um, element (no pun intended!).

I usually don’t use ingredients I’m not of age to buy (and well, you have to be 21 to buy alcohol and I’m 18), but my dad had some whiskey on hand, so I decided to make my first recipe from the Booze chapter!

To tell you the truth, neither my sister nor I were excited about this cake. Or even looking forward to it. But hey–try new things and all, right?

whiskeypeaches1

First up: the whiskey caramel and peaches. The caramel was super easy to make compared with other caramels. And the peaches layered over the caramel looked beautiful. But that overwhelming scent of whiskey I inhaled while measuring it out? Not good. But hey–it’s a whiskey cake.

The cake itself was easy to whip up as well. Granted, there were many bowls and steps used in the process, but the hardest part was making sure the egg whites folded in cohesively and even that isn’t hard.

whiskeypeach4

I didn’t have any trouble baking the cake. It did, however, overflow the pan a bit, which made for a difficult time loosening it up with a paring knife.

I decided to serve the Whiskey Peach Upside-Down cake with a good old fashioned scoop of vanilla ice cream. This offset some of the buttery, whiskey flavor the cake had and was perfect next to the warm slices.

whiskeypeaches2

The cake was so moist and had a delicate crumb that melted in my mouth. The peaches, surprisingly, tasted amazing infused with the whiskey caramel. I could eat them on their own! But the cake as a whole, however, wasn’t my favorite. Sure, I’ll eat another slice or two, but I don’t love it (probably because I’m not a huge whiskey fan).

Check out the other Baked Sunday Mornings posts here and see what the other bakers have to say about the Whiskey Peach Upside-Down Cake!

Keep baking!

Recipe from Baked Elements: Our 10 Favorite Ingredients by Matt Lewis and Renato Poliafito.

9 thoughts on “Baked Sunday Mornings-Whiskey Peach Upside-Down Cake

  1. Jennifer says:

    Your cake looks great!!

  2. Your cake looks terrific! This cake is surprisingly boozy, I couldn’t believe how strongly it smelled of whiskey when I was making it! I’m not a fan of whiskey either, and I want to try the recipe again without the alcohol.

  3. Susan says:

    We loved this cake, too. Your top shot is perfect!

  4. SandraM says:

    Your cake is beautiful! It really was a moist cake. And I thought even better the next day.

  5. busylizzybakes says:

    Mine overflowed a little bit, it rose surprisingly high. I liked this one too.

  6. Candy says:

    I typically omit booze from sweet recipes but went with it here and loved it, but you could always try it again with the booze!

  7. OMG, I had no idea how young you are, Maddie! When I was your age, I could barely boil water. 😉 Good for you for trying the cake even though it wasn’t a recipe you were excited about– I’ve often found those ones to be sleeper hits. I guess we both learned that lesson about peeling the peaches– I think it would make a big difference in the texture. Anyway, nice job!

  8. Sarah says:

    I think this cake would be great without the alcohol. I mentioned on another blog that it’s very breakfast-like in my opinion! Yours looks awesome!

  9. Very beautiful photos. You did a great job!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow Caramel and Salt and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 830 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
Baked Sunday Mornings
