Tummy Filling PB Smoothie

1

August 5, 2013 by maddieswab

My sister, my mom, and I have been on a smoothie kick lately. It all started with my green smoothie obsession in June and escalated after we bought some powdered peanut butter from Whole Foods. It grew from there.

Most of the smoothie recipes I’ve used are from blogs and Pinterest, but a few weeks ago I started creating my own. Now, none of them were too special and I never measured anything–I just threw some stuff together and reaped the delicious benefits. But this smoothie? It’s something good.

Most smoothies have fruit as a base, but in this Peanut Butter + Oatmeal smoothie, there are only two main ingredients and they are meant to fill you up. I got the peanut butter idea from my experiments with the powdered peanut butter and the oatmeal idea from my sister.

Peanut  Butter + Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

3 ice cubes

1/2 cup Greek yogurt, plain or vanilla

1/2 cup milk, plus 1/8 cup if needed

3 tablespoons PB2, plus a pinch more for garnish (optional)

3 tablespoons instant oats

1 teaspoon sugar if using plain Greek yogurt, plus more if needed

1 banana cut into chunks (optional; if you do this you might want to add a tablespoon more of PB2 to taste)

Blend the ice cubes, yogurt, and milk, and banana (if using) together until chunky and well-blended. Add in the PB2 and the oats, and blend until completely smooth. Add the sugar, if using, and pulse for a few seconds to combine.

Pour into a glass, sprinkle a pinch of PB2 on top, stick a straw in, and enjoy!

Peanut Butter Breakfast Smoothie

This smoothie isn’t meant to be a sweet smoothie; it’s meant to be hearty and filling and kind of salty–perfect for a healthy breakfast! Enjoy!

One thought on “Tummy Filling PB Smoothie

  1. G says:

    powdered peanut butter exists? you just changed my life! the smoothie looks awesome by the way!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow Caramel and Salt and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 830 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
Baked Sunday Mornings
