Baked Sunday Mornings-Oopsy Daisy Cake

15

July 21, 2013 by maddieswab

IMG_1260

Oopsy daisy is right. I baked this layer cake for my sister’s fifteenth birthday last year and it didn’t turn out quite like it should have.

I had never baked a layer cake before and decided to tackle the Oopsy Daisy Cake as my first. It is a simple cake, but I did make a few mistakes along the way.

I had no problems with the actual baking of the cake; my layers turned out moist, delicious, and really saved my cake. The frosting, however, was a different story. I tried to do everything right. I thought the frosting would be a cinch to whip up and, as a result, so would frosting the cake. Boy, was I wrong. The frosting turned out lumpy (probably because I didn’t let my cold ingredients sit at room temperature long enough), and frosting the cake was even harder than dealing with lumpy frosting!

While I can say that this was one incredibly ugly cake, it was also delicious! My family loved the chocolate and peanut butter combination in cake form and we quickly gobbled up the leftovers the few days they survived.

I don’t think I’ll be baking the Oopsy Daisy Cake again because of the difficulty I had with it my first time, but it’s a great starter layer cake and I definitely know what not to do when baking layer cakes!

Check out the other Baked Sunday Mornings posts here. Hopefully the other bakers produced a more attractive cake than mine!

Keep baking!

Recipe from Baked Elements: Our 10 Favorite Ingredients by Matt Lewis and Renato Poliafito.

15 thoughts on “Baked Sunday Mornings-Oopsy Daisy Cake

  1. LFFL says:

    Looks good! Doesn’t look bad.

  2. Kudos to you for taking on this cake as your first layer cake project! It took me many tries before I got the hang of the Baked cooked buttercreams — one thing I can suggest is that if the frosting looks lumpy, put it over some simmering water and stir it constantly as it heats up a little to soften any remaining chunks of butter. It seems counterintuitive, but I have saved many batches of lumpy/grainy frosting this way. Great work!

  3. Susan says:

    Maddie, The Baked Buttercream is really difficult. I’ve found that pressing bags of ice up against the bottom of the mixing bowl and using the whisk attachment really helps. It also takes far longer than the time stated in the book to come together.

    I think your cake looks great but I also know how it feels when things don’t turn out to your standards. It took me 3 tries, over a period of months, to get this frosting just right. I’m sure your sister loved it!

  4. Jen says:

    Looks good to me!!!

  5. SandraM says:

    Good for you for trying it! And it looks good with those peanuts on top! Cakes are a challenge at the best of times. I feel like it is always hit or miss with buttercreams. And frosting a cake is too! But don’t give up!! I remember doing one cake and it was like watching a train wreck….my buttercream was just sliding off the cake and taking the layers with it!! But then my next buttercream turned out. Crazy!

  6. Chelly says:

    Great try! Don’t give up on the Baked buttercream….it took me many times before I finally got it right!

  7. Maddie, don’t give up! It was a great effort, and believe me, I feel your pain with that frosting!! It has haunted me– I’ve messed it up SO many times. This was the first time I finally got it right on the first try, and it’s definitely tricky. Keep trying– it is completely worth it (though you may waste a lot of butter along the way). Keep beating the frosting after adding the butter for like 10 minutes on high speed– your frosting looks a lot like some of my past attempts, and I realized later that my only mistake was not beating long enough; it should eventually come together. Great job anyway– it’s amazing that the cake still tastes so delicious, even if the frosting isn’t perfect! πŸ™‚

  8. You have to keep trying the buttercream! It really is worth it! You got hot advice, and cold advice, mine is to beat the heck out of it! I beat it forever and it really does come together at some point!

  9. My frosting looks like yours. I knew I didn’t beat it long enough but it’s still delicious, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow Caramel and Salt and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 830 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
Baked Sunday Mornings
