Baked Sunday Mornings-Malted Vanilla Milkshake

6

July 7, 2013 by maddieswab

20130628-002458.jpg
I was a bit uneasy when I saw this week’s Baked Sunday Mornings recipe. Malted milkshakes? The last time I made those was when I followed the recipe on the back of the malted milk powder container. And it tasted gross. But I decided to take the risk and make them again.

20130628-002315.jpg
I actually made this a few weeks early because they were perfect for Father’s Day. My dad loves malt and he loves sweets. Perfect! I had to make a few substitutions, though. I forgot to buy a vanilla bean and didn’t have time to go back out and buy one, so I used a splash of vanilla extract instead. I know, I know. It’s not the same. At all. But the shake still turned out great, so no losses.

I also had to use 1% milk because my family really doesn’t drink straight-up whole milk (their healthiness makes me cringe). But the shake still tasted great!

20130628-002401.jpg
I kept everything else the same, aside from crushing the malted milk balls with a rolling pin instead of a mortar and pestle, and the milkshake came out great! It was thick, creamy, and the malt balls added such a great texture and flavor! This malted vanilla milkshake changed my perception of malted milk shakes for the better! I’ll definitely make this whenever I need a cold treat during the hot summer!

20130628-002540.jpg
Check out the other bakers’ posts here and be sure to check out the other posts! Baked Sunday Mornings has some incredibly talented bakers!

Keep baking!

Recipe from Baked Elements: Our 10 Favorite Ingredients by Matt Lewis and Renato Poliafito.

Also, my Baked Sunday Mornings posts are mostly going to be written in advance, but still posted on the posting date, from now on. I don’t prefer doing this, but I’m trying to bake ahead in preparation for my busy college freshman schedule 🙂 Whenever I can, I’ll bake as close to the posting date as possible! 

6 thoughts on “Baked Sunday Mornings-Malted Vanilla Milkshake

  1. Jen says:

    I didn’t use a mortar and pestle either! I used the food processor, but a rolling pin is a good idea! Your shakes look great!

  2. Rebecca says:

    Glad your family enjoyed these.

  3. SandraM says:

    How great to have them for father’s day! They were good. I also used 1% milk, as that is what we normally drink and I don’t think it changes anything.

  4. I also bashed my malt balls with a rolling pin — I like the big crunchy pieces! Hee hee, I have to laugh about the 1% milk and healthiness making your cringe… good to know the shakes are still delicous!

  5. susanelester says:

    I love your last photo! I’ll have to make this one up soon!

  6. Erin* says:

    I beat my malt balls in a ziploc bag with a rolling pin as well – good technique! 😉 Great photos!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow Caramel and Salt and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 830 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
Baked Sunday Mornings
