Dreaming of…Hammond’s

1

June 12, 2013 by maddieswab

Can we just take a moment to talk about Hammond’s Candies? It’s this great Denver-based candy company that I discovered a few months ago at Star Provisions. They sell crazy chocolate bars, sweets that evoke nostalgia, and just plain yummy candies.

My first experience was with the vanilla Mitchell’s Sweet. No, this isn’t about some guy named Mitchell. It’s a homemade marshmallow (!!!) covered with caramel (!!!). Pure goodness. And then I went months without Hammond’s, stalking their website and dreaming of the day when I will be in Denver again to buy out the storefront.

The other day, I discovered that Cost Plus World Market sells a ton of different Hammond’s products! Cue the happiness.

I immediately bought a package of vanilla Mitchell Sweets and the More S’mores chocolate bar. And oh my goodness was I happy. I already knew the wonders of Mitchell Sweets but this chocolate bar enlightened my taste buds. I’m not a huge fan of milk chocolate, but this bar evoked the classic marshmallow, graham cracker, and milk chocolate taste of s’mores.

Of course, I had to go back to try the Malted Milkshake bar I had been eyeing. This, by far, might be my favorite Hammond’s bar, and, dare I say, one of my favorite candies of all time. It’s so different and, unlike many other malt desserts I’ve tried, the malt flavor really shines. The bar is, like the s’mores bar, milk chocolate, but I didn’t mind. In fact, I was too happy with the taste and texture the malt adds to even think “Hey, this is milk chocolate.”

If you want to try Hammond’s check out Cost Plus World Market, Star Provisions, the company’s website, or check to see if a store near you carries their goods. Now, I’ve got to get back to eating the Malted Milkshake bar…and buying more!

Next on my list of Hammond’s Candies goods to try:
Chicken Bones
Chocolate Mitchell Sweets
Sea Side Caramel (dark)

One thought on “Dreaming of…Hammond’s

  1. Yum they sound delicious! We’ll have to make a stop next time we’re in the area! Thanks for sharing! Xo, M&K at brewedtogether.com

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow Caramel and Salt and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 830 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
Baked Sunday Mornings
