Ice, Ice, Baby

Leave a comment

June 10, 2013 by maddieswab

My mom and I went to Indie Craft Experience‘s Summer ICE event and we loved it! There were so many cool vendors with crazy things, such as flavored salts, and it was great knowing that by buying the vendors’ wares we were shopping local and supporting small businesses.

20130608-144231.jpg
20130608-144322.jpg

There was so much to do at the event–we couldn’t fit it all in! There were over 75 vendors, a DJ, a photo booth, a yarn art installation, craft stations, and food from local food places and food trucks. Also, ICE Atlanta was giving away swag bags to the first 250 people each day and my mom and I got one for each of us! Filled with stickers, samples, and business cards, the swag bags were great–and the bags themselves were too cute! Some vendors included special surprises in a few of the bags; my mom got a hair tie from Sailor Studio and I got a tea towel from Mode Design Co., among other goodies.

20130609-182712.jpg
Fallen Arrows was handing out free lemonades in cute ICE mugs, which rocked! And I stopped by the Bookie Macarons table to try some of their goods. I decided on the lemon verbena with Georgia peach filling and it was such a great macaron (plus, the technique was perfect, which I appreciate)!

20130609-183016.jpg
My first purchase was sweet potato and peanut butter dog treats from Brixtix. Im regretting buying only one bag because my dogs go crazy for them! Out of the few things I purchased during the day, this might have been my favorite one. Plus, the treats only have three ingredients–and none of that artificial stuff big name treats have! I will definitely be scouting out more Brixtix treats in the future and I’m going to tell every dog owner I know about them!

I also bought these earrings from Once Again Sam. I was immediately attracted to the display of muted colored earrings that stood out with their geometric shapes, even though they looked heavy. But once I touched them, they were as light as a feather! Once Again Sam uses faux-leather, creating earrings that feel like you don’t have them on. These are great and I can’t wait to wear them!

20130609-182900.jpg
My mom got these adorable and customized dachshund TOMS from Matt Butler and she loves them! She hasn’t even worn them out yet but has received compliments on the photo she posted on Facebook!

20130609-183103.jpg
After ICE Atlanta, my mom and I visited the Atlanta Food Truck Park on Howell Mill Road. We had never been before, and it was on my summer bucket list, so I was pumped to go! We wanted to try something different that we wouldn’t normally get to eat, so we both had a banh mi xa xiu from Viet-Nomie’s. They were delicious and light! After lunch, I grabbed some peach bubble tea from The Bubble Tea Truck, which I had wanted to try after Jordan told me about the truck. It was so different and delicious! I will definitely be going back to enjoy the other trucks.

20130608-172608.jpg
20130608-172649.jpg
20130608-144441.jpg
20130608-144533.jpg
20130608-144611.jpg
20130608-172512.jpg
20130608-172540.jpg

Some photos courtesy of my mom, Katy Swab.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow Caramel and Salt and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 830 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
Baked Sunday Mornings
