Mother’s Day

1

May 12, 2013 by maddieswab

Since today is Mother’s Day, I would like to say thanks to my mom, KatyShops. She has taught me so much throughout my life and has played a huge part in who I am now. She’s an inspiration; a strong (and I don’t just mean muscle-wise!), beautful (inside and out!), independent woman who can do anything she dreams.

mom1

She has taught me to never give up. Even when I second-guess myself, she puts me back in my place and helps me realize that if I want something, I have to go get it.

She has taught me to stand on my own. I was raised to be independent in some sort of way, whether by earning my own money or figuring out problems on my own, she has helped me feel confident in my ability to live on my own.

She has taught me to not be afraid to be different. She doesn’t do things becasue they are cool; she does them because it’s what she wants to do. Because of my mom, I am who I am. I paint pictures on my closet door. I’m proud of my status as a girl who knows how to shoot. I’m a huge dork that gets nervous with the slightest bit of rebellion (which is strange because my mom was such a rebellious teenager). I don’t care what anyone thinks because I do what makes me happy.

mom2

Now that I’m an adult, I look back on all of the fights and disagreements with my mom, the times I thought she was so unfair and the times where I said not-so-nice things and I realize that she was just making sure I’m on the right track. She just wanted to make sure that I grow up to become everything I have wanted to become.

And because of my mom, I’m not afraid of being on my own, I’m not afraid of thinking outside of the box, I’m not afraid of the unconventional, I’m not afraid to pursue a field where there is so much competition and not enough pay, and I’m not afraid to grow up. She has equipped me so well with everything I need in life.

mom3

I can’t thank my mom enough. Not only did she bring me into this world, but she gave me everything I need to live my life to the fullest. And for this, I am so thankful for the best mother I could possibly dream of.

Happy Mother’s Day to my mom and to all of your moms as well!

One thought on “Mother’s Day

  1. katy says:

    I’m so proud to be your Mom…I love you and love the young adult that you have become!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow Caramel and Salt and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 830 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
Baked Sunday Mornings
