Baked Sunday Mornings-Lemon Shaker Pie

3

March 17, 2013 by maddieswab

I’ve been looking forward to this recipe for FOREVER. If you haven’t already guessed, I love citrus. It’s one of my favorite tastes and I love baking with any type of citrus. So, when I saw this recipe and saw the pie in all of its yellow, pure lemon glory, my mouth started watering. And I knew it wouldn’t stop until I made it. So, imagine my excitement when Baked Sunday Mornings picked the Lemon Shaker Pie as this week’s recipe!

lemons1

I started with the lemons. I was going to sugar them and let them macerate on Thursday, and bake the pie on Saturday. Unfortunately, my Thursday was just too busy. And my Friday turned out to be as well. But I quickly got them ready before heading off to work Friday evening. While my lemons didn’t macerate for the full 48 hours (it was more like 46), I figured they would be fine.

lemons3

Next on to my pie dough. I made this yesterday so that my pie process would be quick today. I had a few problems, though. My food processor is way too small to handle the amount of dough–I almost burned it out! So, I finished the dough mixing it by hand. It’s sticky and not very well mixed and I knew it wouldn’t be my best pie dough.

lemons2

Finally, the actual pie. This pie was super easy to assemble. Roll out the pie dough, place the lemons, mix the filling, and top with dough. Easy peasy. My dough was a bit too sticky, but it didn’t cause any real problems. Everything else looked delicious.

lemons4

So, I put it in the oven, hopeful for a good turnout. And boy, was I right to bake this pie! As it was baking, the smell radiated throughout the house, even overpowering the smell of the corned beef roasting! While my pie crust didn’t look perfect (it was hard enough to place the sticky, breakable crust, let alone make it look nice), it didn’t matter. Once I saw this pie baked, I fell in love.

lemons5

I couldn’t wait the 2 hours for the pie to chill, like the Baked boys suggested, but I still loved the pie at room temperature. The lemon flavor was so good! It was pretty sweet, however, and I planned on making some whipped cream to go with it. Alas, my heavy cream was expired. But without doubt, this pie pleased every lemon-loving fiber of my being. I thought I would be repulsed by the texture of the candied lemons (I have a weird thing with certain food textures), but I actually really liked them. They added a nice chew and bitterness to the pie that I loved. Also, the pie crust turned out a lot better than I expected. It’s not my favorite crust, but that might be because of the problems I had making the dough. I’ll definitely be keeping this recipe in mind whenever I crave citrus!

This recipe is from Baked Elements: Our 10 Favorite Ingredients by Matt Lewis and Renato Poliafito. You can find the recipe here. Happy baking!

3 thoughts on “Baked Sunday Mornings-Lemon Shaker Pie

  1. SandraM says:

    Great looking pie, Maddie. Looks delicious! 🙂

  2. Susan says:

    So glad you enjoyed this – it looks like it turned out great despite your worry!

  3. Krissy says:

    So glad you love this pie! Hubby just ate a piece of my lemon pie and he really likes it too…I was actually surprised as I expected some critical comments. And, your baking pie must have had a strong and wonderful smell to overpower corned beef which I smelled from my house all the way down the street! The whole neighborhood knew what we were cooking for dinner. Loved you post mostly because of your enthusiasm for this pie…your post actually makes me feel better about my pie.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow Caramel and Salt and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 830 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
Baked Sunday Mornings
