Box of Chocolates (Actually, Cookies)

Leave a comment

February 16, 2013 by maddieswab

Happy belated Valentine’s Day! I’ve never been a huge go-all-out kind of person for this holiday, but this year I did some baking. I was going to make something super Valentine’s-y like red velvet something or heart-shaped something or candy something, but I decided to think out of the box–the chocolate box, that is.

I decided to do a take on the classic box of chocolates, replacing the chocolates with cookies. You’re probably thinking, “Is this girl crazy?!?”, but hear me out!

216135

For my first box of chocolates cookie, I did a play on the classic dark chocolate with chocolate ganache filling. I whipped up macarons au chocolat from David Lebovitz‘s book A Sweet Life in Paris.

216132

These turned out pretty great! I’ve only made macarons once before, so I still haven’t gotten the hang of piping them so they look super beautiful and smooth. But hey–nothing’s perfect. Also, I was a tad worried when I read over the recipe; it was a lot shorter and less labor intensive than the first recipe I tried for macarons. But this batch came out so much better than my last batch! Sometimes, simplicity is better. One problem I did have was the chocolate ganache. It didn’t set up too well and was super runny. I had to squeeze the sandwiched cookies together for at least 30 seconds each to make sure the ganache had time and strength to bind them. Overall, these cookies ended up looking petite and tasted better than boxed chocolates.

216131

My next cookie (and last, so this is a small box of chocolates..I’m just going to blame my workload for that) is one from Christina Tosi’s Momofuku Milk Bar: the cornflake-chocolate-chip-marshmallow cookie. These cookies came out wonderfully. There’s a perfect balance of sweet and salty, and the marshmallows end up caramelizing. It reminded me of those chocolates that surprise you; you don’t know what’s in it and you bite in, and then encounter a combination that’s out of this world.

216133

You know, I’d much rather have cookies than a box of chocolates for Valentine’s Day.

Happy Valentine’s Day and keep baking!

«

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow Caramel and Salt and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 830 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
Baked Sunday Mornings
