Baked Sunday Mornings-Cheesy Focaccia with Caramelized Onions + Sautéed Spinach

15

February 3, 2013 by maddieswab

23132

I like savory treats and I like sweet treats. But I enjoy baking sweet treats much more than savory treats–or so I thought. Looking at the recipe for this focaccia, my mouth didn’t water and my mind didn’t get excited at the possibilities and the tastes. To be honest, I wasn’t thrilled to bake this focaccia and I almost didn’t.

It’s a good thing I did. This focaccia was fairly easy, tasty, and my family LOVED it. I made a few tweaks to the recipe, however, based on what was available to me. Also, I didn’t take many pictures because, well, baking bread is messy. And I’m not willing to put focaccia before my technology.

Instead of using instant yeast, I used active dry yeast because it’s what I had. All I had to do was reduce the amount of water I used in the mixing of the dough by a little over 1/4 of a cup, which was the amount of water I used to proof the yeast.

23135

I also used one 9-by-13-inch pan instead of two because it’s just what I had. This produced a super fluffy focaccia, not the typical focaccia. This is why my family started calling this batch “fauxcaccia.”

23134

And, per request from my sister, I replaced the red onions with sweet onions. I enjoy the more mild flavor, and my family isn’t a big fan of red onions. It was still delicious, and the onions added enough flavor, but they were more of an accent than an overbearing flavor.

Overall, this recipe turned out pretty well. I forgot how much I actually enjoy baking breads, and this recipe has kept me open about the fun that can be found in the savory.

23133

This recipe is from Baked Elements: Our 10 Favorite Ingredients by Matt Lewis and Renato Poliafito and the recipe, along with more information about Baked Sunday Mornings, can be found here. Keep baking!

15 thoughts on “Baked Sunday Mornings-Cheesy Focaccia with Caramelized Onions + Sautéed Spinach

  1. SandraM says:

    Your focaccia looks wonderful. The cheese got so nicely browned. I really enjoyed this recipe too. It was so easy to make. I agree on the onions, I wish I had used sweet instead…they just seem to caramelize so much better. My next batch of focaccia is being made with active yeast for my Tuesday post. (I hope it is just as good….so far the dough is feeling good but I have to wait at least 24 hours to try it!) Glad you tried it and liked it!

  2. Chelly says:

    I used sweet onions too! I liked this one too….yours looks beautiful!

  3. Susan says:

    Wow, Maddie – your top photo is great! We really enjoyed this.

  4. Sarah says:

    I only used one pan, too… And everyone loved it! Great photos! 🙂

  5. I love how beautifully browned and crusty your cheese was — I cannot resist browned cheese. Your focaccia looks terrific!

  6. Krissy says:

    That top photo makes me want more now! Guess I’ll have to bake this again soon. we love this recipe!!!

  7. busylizzybakes says:

    Wow, yours looks perfect!

  8. […] ricotta’s ride in the food processor, however, because of my tiny processor (flashback to my focaccia). But it still turned out creamy and […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow Caramel and Salt and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 830 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
Baked Sunday Mornings
