A Muy Delicioso Thanksgiving

2

November 23, 2012 by maddieswab

Whenever I hear the word “Thanksgiving,” I want to throw up from all of the turkey and gravy and stuffing I envision…it’s all so trite and blah to me. My family, thankfully, feels the same. This year, we flipped things around for Thanksgiving. We had a Mexican fiesta! While this sounds crazy and is far from what the Pilgrims ate, it was innovative and I finished the meal full, but not stuffed or suffering from a turkey coma.

My mom and sister prepping the dishes.

My little sister Riley recreated the traditional Thanksgiving menu, replacing the traditional turkey, stuffing, gravy, etc. with Mexican alternatives.

Appetizer

Sopa de Poro y Papa (Potato and Leek Soup)–replaced traditional potatoes

Main Entree

Pork carnitas with fresh flour tortillas, lime wedges, queso fresco, and pickled onions–replaced turkey

Side Dishes

Brussels sprouts with chorizo–replaces traditional Brussels sprouts

Casa dragones guacamole and tomatillo salsa–replaced gravy

Mexican rice–replaced stuffing

Frijole casserole–replaced sweet potato casserole

It was all very fun and festive, and I really had a blast setting the table.

My true time to shine came during dessert. While I don’t have many Mexican dessert recipes around, I did find a recipe for Cinnamon Chocolate Souffles that combined chocolate and cinnamon, two things that are fairly Mexican. This was my first time baking souffles, and I was terrified. And I shouldn’t have been. They were fairly simple to make, but I ended up with less-than-perfect souffles. My problems were (1) my ramekins were a touch too large and the souffles, while they did rise, didn’t look as souffle-y, (2) I believe I over-folded the chocolate mixture and the egg whites mixture, and (3) I baked them a tad too little. While these were all very minor problems (they tasted fantastic and were just barely under baked), I wasn’t as satisfied. My family loved them, however, so I was pretty happy. Plus, they tasted really good 🙂

I also decided to dress up for the occasion, so milkmaid braids and a white cotton tunic seemed pretty Pilgrim-y to me 🙂

I hope your Thanksgivings were full of food, family, and the National Dog Show (or football. Or the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade. Or nothing. I don’t judge).

 

2 thoughts on “A Muy Delicioso Thanksgiving

  1. Brittany says:

    I love your Thanksgiving spread of food! Those Brussels sprouts look amazing.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow Caramel and Salt and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 830 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
Baked Sunday Mornings
