Be Thankful, Not Bored

2

November 10, 2012 by maddieswab

Thanksgiving is right around the corner, but I am a bit tired of the traditional turkey, stuffing, pumpkin pie, and pecan pie bit. While I’m not the cook in the family, I do most of the baking, and this year I’m going to make sure Thanksgiving dessert is exciting and nontraditional. Here are a few recipes to spice up your T-giving day meal.

Pumpkin can still be utilized in ways other than pie. While I love pie and I’m a firm believer in a high crust-to-pie ratio, pie of the pumpkin variety can be boring, cliche, and taste like baby food after a while. To remedy this, try serving guests pumpkin pie sundaes. This frozen treat is basically a deconstructed pumpkin pie, but with ice cream and a surprising coconut flavor.

If you’re one of those people who can’t have Thanksgiving without pie (*ahem* me), then there are many fall flavor alternatives to pecan, pumpkin, and apple. Buttermilk pie is something I’ve never tried before. But I know two things: I love buttermilk and I love pie. With fall getting colder and winter right around the corner, I just want to hold on to a mug of mocha and never let go. This mocha meringue pie is perfect for coffee lovers (although I’m sure those who aren’t fond of coffee will still love this) and can serve the role of both dessert and after dessert coffee. A sweet potato pie with candied nut cream still fulfills the role of Thanksgiving, but offers a different take on pumpkin pie. Plus, who doesn’t love candied nuts?

Happy baking!

2 thoughts on “Be Thankful, Not Bored

  1. This was very helpful! I don’t cook on Thanksgiving either (for some reason the only thing I can really “cook” are breakfast foods and then I’m restricted to making everything else out of a box, can, etc.) but as of late, I’ve become “The Baker” (the caps make it serious). I typically go for a nice pie, but they feel like something that’s overdone during the holidays and once I’m finished I can’t help wondering why I didn’t get a frozen pie and save myself some stress and time, so I love to see alternate ideas for holiday desserts that still keep the same theme. I think I’ll go for the pumpkin pie sundae! 🙂
    P.S. My favorite stray from the typical pie dessert is to make apple pies baked inside of apples.

  2. maddieswab says:

    Thanks for the feedback! And apple pies baked inside of apples sounds delish and simple! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow Caramel and Salt and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 830 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
Baked Sunday Mornings
