Local Spotlight: West Egg Cafe (And an Early Birthday!)

1

January 8, 2014 by maddieswab

West Egg Cafe Photobooth

Last weekend I celebrated my 19th birthday early with my family, since I won’t be able to be with them on my actual birthday. It sure was great, though! I decided to visit West Egg Cafe for brunch and then chill out for the rest of the day, especially since it’s freezing here!

The Great Gatsby Quote

West Egg certainly didn’t disappoint, with their F. Scott Fitzgerald quote framed on the vintage photobooth and the old library file system holding the sugars for coffee. While the wait was 35 minutes, it was well worth it!

Sweet Pear Ricotta French Toast

The vibe was laid back and everyone was so friendly, plus the food was to die for! I picked one of the specials they were serving that day, the Sweet Pear Ricotta French Toast, and an amazing latte to fuel me for the day. Holy cow the French toast was perfect. I loved the crispy French toast and the creamy honey ricotta, and how the dish wasn’t too sweet. But the real star was the vanilla poached pear–I could have eaten a bowl of just the pear and been satisfied! Too good!

Me and My Mom

My mom and sister each had the Classic Eggs Benedict, their go-to brunch dish, and my dad ordered one of the other specials of the day, the Dog Head Chicken Biscuit. All of their dishes looked delish!

Dossants

Cranberry Dossant

After we filled our bellies, we headed over to Star Provisions to check out some sweets. And lo and behold, they had some dossants left! Dossants are their version of Dominique Ansel’s cronut, and we had been dying to try them! We picked some up to enjoy later; my mom and sister had the custard dossants, I had the cranberry dossant (with a birthday candle!), and my dad decided on the hazelnut dossant. Magnifique!

Overall, I had such a great early birthday eating and relaxing with my family, and I can’t wait to see what’s in store for my actual birthday!

West Egg Cafe

1100 Howell Mill Road

Atlanta, GA, 30318

Star Provisions

1198 Howell Mill Road

Atlanta, GA, 30318

West Egg Cafe on Urbanspoon

One thought on “Local Spotlight: West Egg Cafe (And an Early Birthday!)

  1. Oh WOW! What a perfect birthday celebration!!! Both of these places are on my restaurant bucket list. Too. Much. Fun.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow Caramel and Salt and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 807 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
Baked Sunday Mornings
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 807 other followers

